Pretty Girl

I don’t know how

I ran out of the gate, only

To stop in my tracks and turn back

When I heard you.

You talked to me.

You spoke to me.

I heard you.

I saw you speak.

Words flowing out of your mouth

Can’t be forgotten, even if I wanted to.

I don’t know how

I will ever forget you.

You said I was pretty

That’s why you ran after me.

My heart swelled up at that,

Nobody ever told me that.

Texting you, talking to you

I got to know you.

Yes, I gave you my number!

I don’t know how

Or why I did that.

One day you ask

Why did I do that?

I don’t know

The answer to that.

You say

I am merely a pretty girl to you

You don’t know how

It broke me

It shattered my little heart.

I don’t know how

I don’t know why

Romance isn’t my genre

Nobody ever told me that.

6 thoughts on “Pretty Girl

Leave a Reply

